The third house I staged!

This is a lovely townhouse in Hunt Club but the L-shaped dining room was a bit of a challenge and the client had oversized furniture. I solved that by creating a couple of different focal points: the art is all mine, so are the vases and cushions.

 

Wisteria LR 11

Wisteria 4

The art over this sofa comes right out of my own bedroom – I thought it needed something sophisticated, and it really draws the eye. I added a large mirror over the fireplace as well.

Wisteria LR 5

I also picked out a new drum shade chandalier for their dining room and found a matching semi-flush for the kitchen, both from Rona, around $ 120 each, and there was a Scratch and Win sale so I got 15% off!

And because I had added bronze accents, I brought over a drum shade lamp with a bronze base from my own guestroom, so the space looks coherent and pulled together. Art in the dining room is again my own. (One of the frames on the artwork over that sofa is also bronze, so it all works well together.)

wisteria 3

The upstairs MBR was an easy one to stage: the seller had white bedding and some bright green pillows. I kept them and I hung a painting on the far wall (again, every room needs that graphic focal point) that had the same shade of green in it. I threw on a light gray/green quilt and shams which came from HomeSense several years ago.

Wisteria MBR

We removed the three piece folding mirror that was above the chest of drawers (so dated!) and I replaced it with a large mirror in a beautiful frame.Wisteria MBR 2

The loft sitting area was just a matter of adding a few cushions, accessories to highlight the mantle and a gorgeous piece of art, on loan from Frank Van Boxtel. Thanks Frank!

Wisteria loft

The main bathroom was an easy one to stage: no tub, only a shower, but I used some Moroccan-designed towels in green to add a bit of unexpected colour, tie that room into the MBR, and add that punch of graphics I mentioned. Once again, I used one of the floral arrangements I love to use in bathrooms (HomeSense, around $ 25). Love this piece of art, it’s one of the rare times I have found an original, signed painting at HomeSense and I grabbed it – I think it was on sale for $ 20!

Wisteria BA 1

I left the owner’s office alone, other than to declutter it a bit, but I did add a chair, again from HomeSense: he didn’t have one, and it made all the difference in the world. Note that I did not have him remove photographs or degrees; the office is the one part of a house that I think can have personal items.

Wisteria office

The back yard was a bit overgrown; I suggested the owners pull up the weeds and add brown mulch — we also took the big potted plants out of the living room and popped them in the back corner — the yard looks amazing.

Wisteria back yard 1

And then I pulled out a wicker settee they had had in the back yard and moved it to the front porch with a few outdoor cushions I  picked up at Sears and Walmart years ago on sale. Love the big bold graphic design!

Wisteria Porch 1The last room I staged was the main floor powder room: the owner had a bronze towel rack so I picked up a bronze coloured metal wall hanging for $ 14.99 at HomeSense to pull that space together. Nice fluffy towels, some soap, a floral and we were done!

wisteria powder room

We had six showings today, by the way, and the feedback has all been great. Here’s hoping it all pays off!

This entry was posted in Before and After, Realtors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

