Before-and-after: What a little paint can do

As you folks know, I often do renovations for my clients, inexpensively transforming their homes to get them ready for sale. This fall, I’m tackling my cottage and like all my projects, I’m trying to keep the costs down as much as possible.

This open concept kitchen was in desperate need of a makeover. Those dark colours I thought were so great twenty years ago looked, well,  twenty years out of date. So I swapped out the dark blue walls for a much lighter colour (Benjamin Moore’s Putty) and replaced the very old track lighting with some new halogens. (I put the track light on a dimmer, which I love.)  Here’s the before-and-after.

peggy's cottage 15

 

DSCN0179

The biggest transformation was also the least expensive: I found a gorgeous hammered metal pendant lamp at Living Lighting that looks almost artisanal. I had used one in a client’s house when we staged it for sale and absolutely loved it. The cost? Just over $ 100 and it’s one of my favourites.

Again, here’s the before. If you look to the right you’ll see the really ugly  light fixture I’d pulled out of a previous reno and put to work at the lake. It was functional but definitely not pretty, and it was hung way too high. And that dark blue paint was dragging down the living area as well.

peggy's cottage 18

And here’s the after:

DSCN0180

So much brighter and appealing!

DSCN0176

IMG_2166

This entry was posted in Renovations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

