Another Before-and-After

Well, I keep forgetting to take pictures of the “before” but here are some pictures of a townhouse I recently got ready for sale for a client in Kanata. It sold in less than a week for 99% of list.

The place was a bachelor pad with dark drapes and curtains, big black leather furniture, huge television. I told the client to take it all out; there wasn’t really anything that was going to help to sell his house.

The kitchen cabinets were original and had wooden knobs; the range hood was disgusting. $ 45 bought a brand-new Broan range hood and I picked up brushed nickel knobs at Rona for about $ 40. Then we added a backsplash: the tiles came from Home Depot and were about $15 a square foot plus installation. I replaced the tired old linoleum with rectangular ceramic tiles that we set in a subway tile pattern, with a very light grout.

DSCN0064

I replaced all the lighting in the house. My favourite fixture was this one to define the dining area in the open concept living/dining room. It’s a drum chandelier that has a leaf pattern on the outside that glows when it’s turned on. It was around $ 150 at Home Depot.

DSCN0043

Then there were the bathrooms. The ensuite and main second floor bathroom had grey walls, grey fixtures, and were super dark. I put in new vanity lighting, new faucets, and we painted the walls and the cabinets with Benjamin Moore Marble White (in melamine for the cabinets). I replaced the cabinet pulls ($ 25) and removed the flat mirrors; I got new framed ones at HomeSense for around $ 50 each. And I found a shower curtain at Linen Chest ($30) that pulled together the colour scheme in the second floor bathroom beautifully.

DSCN0052DSCN0055

All new drapes (silk) from HomeSense and new rods and this place was completely transformed. I had a $ 2,000 budget from the client to work with (excluding paint and tile/installation) and I came in well under. Very proud of this place; it turned out beautifully!

 

This entry was posted in Before and After and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

