Staging a condo: Part 2. The living space.

I’m getting a condo in The Gardens ready for sale. It has amazing 14th floor views and gorgeous dark stained hardwood throughout. It just needs a little tweaking to get ready. Yesterday I showed you what we have planned for the kitchen. The kitchen is open to the living room and dining room, and there’s nothing wrong with the dining room and living room space at all except an outdated light fixture.

95 bronson light fixture oldThe solution? I went to Living Lighting (they gave me a 20% discount) and pulled this gorgeous chandelier right off the floor (see below, right: it’s the glass-ribbed drum shade with the cylindrical white shades in brushed nickel).95 bronson chandalier

I liked the mix of traditional and contemporary. I also ordered a 12″ extension for an additional $ 24 which arrived today, so that the chandelier will now hang lower over the dining room table. (I’ll be loaning this client a dining room set and chairs from a condo I used to own in Montreal.)

Now the other thing that bugged me were the mini-pendants over the kitchen island/peninsula. (We’re putting in a backsplash of glass tiles as well as painting.)

Bronson kitchen backsplash

And so I  ordered  three mini pendants that match the chandelier to replace them. The new ones are coming from a US distributor. The good news? They were almost one-third the cost of the same lights  in Canada  (which were on back-order until the end of June; I’ll get mine the first week in May).

95 bronson pendantI’ve rented all the furniture, although the first loveseat/sofa set I’d selected was sold, and the second ended up rented by a stager, I managed to snag this one (see below) and a matching loveseat. I’ll replace the cushions with an assortment of silk and other pillows that match my colour scheme, but I liked the tufting, and it goes with my tufted-back bar stools.

95 bronson sofa set

bronson bar stool 2

I needed a rug to go with it, and after wandering around for a while, I found this $ 479 rug at Sears for sale for $ 129 and grabbed it. It will work perfectly and I couldn’t resist the price!

95 bronson rugThe furniture arrives tomorrow. Stay tuned for the before-and-after!

 

This entry was posted in Bargains, Selling, Staging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

