Some of my favourite tradespeople ….

When getting a house ready for sale, I have to know a lot of  trades who can come in quickly and do the work that needs to be done quickly and inexpensively. Here are a few of my favourite tradespeople to work with:

SmartChoice Painters. Dave and Jeff are a father-and-son team. They not only paint, they do drywall repairs, will swap out lights, change faucets, and do general handyman work. Meticulous to detail, reliable, and clean, they’ll stand on their heads to get the job done. Call Dave at 613-724-7083 to arrange an estimate.

Cash and Carry Carpets at 920 Belfast Road, 613-569-8053. Not only do they sell and install carpets, but they also supply and install laminate, hardwood, and wall and floor tiles. I typically deal with George Papadopoulos, but I’ve also worked with Frank, who is just as great to deal with. I had a job with them on a condo for sale, for example, where George’s workmen picked up a tub for me and installed it when they were re-doing a bathroom floor and surround. Beautiful work, great prices; they’ll move furniture out of the way while they’re working and put it back when they’re done. They’ve always come in on budget and on schedule. A pleasure to deal with.

Simply Wood, just off St. Laurent, near the Museum of Science and Technology. 613 722-9993. This is another family operation; I’ve known Brian and Steve for over a decade. (I used to have an antique store a few doors down from their original Westboro location.) Super talented  carpenters and the nicest guys you’d ever want to meet, they primarily build and sell furniture but they will also build kitchen cabinets. Great prices, beautiful work. Their motto is “If you can imagine it, we can build it.”

Modern Carpentry, on Kirkwood Avenue in Westboro.  I met Matt Viau as the result of a referral and am very happy to have him on my list. He’s in the design-build business; he does beautiful work and will take on smaller jobs as well as major renos. His folks can design your new kitchen; build you a new deck (or a garage, for that matter) but they’ve also taken Ikea cabinets for clients of mine and turned them into a gorgeous custom wall unit for their condo. You can reach Matt at 613 327-5060.

Cedric Poon is another carpenter  I love to work with, but I know he’s swamped right now and not easily available. Still worth a try: leave him a message at 613 761-1020. Cedric is wonderful at finding creative solutions to renovation problems; my clients love him. So do I.

For foundations, Ardel Concrete. 613 761-8919. I’ve worked with Chris de la Roche and his son, Steven, for years. (Steve’s in the process of taking over the business.) They do a great job at a great price, and they are my “go-to” guys on anything to do with leaky basements or foundation cracks. They get my triple love rating.

And finally, Black Cat Chimneys. Renny Lambton is great; they do a fantastic job on masonry and brick work at a very reasonable price, and are super to deal with. 819 495-2205.

So there you go: tradesmen who are polite and pleasant to deal with, show up on time, do a great job, get the job done on schedule, clean up after themselves and stick to their quotes. What more could you ask for? (Tell ’em I sent you.)

This entry was posted in Contractors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

