# 3 – Getting a house ready for sale — more glitches!

Another glitchy day today. My poor cat is not well (she’s not urinating and I’m told that can be life-threatening) so I had to book an appointment with the vet and the only spot I could get was at 6:30 tonight.

Getting from Stittsville, where I had the carpet cleaners booked for 4 PM to do the carpets at my new listing and then back to Westboro in time could have been problematic since I didn’t know how long it would take them.

I called the person I had booked the appointment with to find out. “They’ll probably be done by 5:30,” she said, “but I can send them out earlier if you like. How’s 2:30?”

“Fantastic, ” I said. She said she’d call me to let me know when they were on the way so I could head off to Stittsville to meet them. At 3:00, she still hadn’t called me so I phoned her. “Oh, they can still get there early, but it will probably be closer to 3:30.”

“Fine,” I said. “I’ll head out now, so I can beat traffic.”

I arrived at the condo to find that the new tile looks fantastic but the water line to the fridge (which had been disconnected) was leaking water all over the counter/floor. Luckily, I got there in time to mop it up before it caused a real mess.

By 4 PM, there was still no sign of the carpet cleaners. I called again, and left a message saying that if they weren’t there by 4:30, given my emergency at home, I would have to leave. At 4:20 they finally showed up.

“It’s $ 190, right?” I said to the guy with the clipboard, since that was the price quoted to me over the phone. “I have to go now but I can give the code to the lockbox if you can lock up.” The guy said he wanted to walk through the house with me first.

He used some kind of UV light to check the carpet while the fellow with him took measurements. They told me the carpet was in great condition, no stains, no pets, all open spaces. Then they told me the price would be just under $ 400.

“Look,” I said, “Your salesperson quoted me $ 190 yesterday. This is an estate sale. I got approval from the estate to proceed on the basis of a quote for $ 190. That’s all the money there is; that’s all I’m approved for. If you can’t do it for that, there’s nothing for us to talk about.”

“You told her the house was 700 square feet,” he said. “It’s 1,000 sq ft.”

Now, that annoyed me because I told the salesperson when I spoke to her that the house was 1,100 square feet on the main floor. I’d explained that everything except the kitchen and bathrooms were carpeted.

“Well, you don’t have to go ahead with the cleaning if you don’t want to. I don’t like to waste people’s time,” he said. A little ironic, since they’d wasted most of my afternoon for nothing. I thanked them and told them I’d make other arrangements.

Now I have no idea why a company that could have had its name promoted on the new  show on Rogers TV and this blog and various websites of the people involved in getting this home ready for staging and sale would have chosen to provide such terrible customer service, but there you are. Given how many referrals we make in real estate every week, that’s lost business for them: as you can imagine, they won’t be on my “preferred partner” list.

Tomorrow, the tiles will be grouted. The new light fixtures will be installed. And I’ll be cleaning the carpet.

This entry was posted in Before and After, Selling, Staging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

