Offer on a reno property – now comes the waiting!

Well, everyone, I’ve been looking for a renovation project for a while and I may have found one! I put in an offer today on a property listed for sale by The Public Guardian. The Public Guardian acts in certain cases where someone is no longer able to manage their affairs. In this case, the property has some issues (asbestos is one, and an oil tank that no longer complies with the law is another), but it has great bones.

The Public Guardian’s office has a lot of different committees that need to examine each offer carefully to make sure that they get the best possible outcome so I won’t find out until a week from this Friday (June 22) whether my offer has been accepted or not. It’s possible it won’t be; I understand that another offer has also been received.

But I’m thinking that if my offer is accepted, I’ll renovate the property, obtaining as many donations as I can of labour and materials, and donate whatever profits are made on the sale to local charities. The Royal LePage Shelter Foundation is one; I’ll have to think about the other (there are so many worthy candidates). 

I love doing renos and have been itching to get my hands on a property. This one is so cool — it was built in the 60s and has that retro vibe to it. Look at the amazing stove in the kitchen and check out the mosaic tiles in the bathroom!

The living room is so cool with tons of light from huge front and back windows.

I can see the possibility for lots of curb appeal!

This is a house that was clearly well-loved. I saw it initially because I had clients who were interested in perhaps flipping it, but when they decided not to go ahead, (and after discussing it with them fully), I decided to go for it myself.  Wish me luck! I’ll update you on June 22nd!

This entry was posted in Buying a house, Renovations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

